Featherweight AR-15 Introduction

This is the first part of many dealing with ultralight AR-15 carbines. As you may know by now, I am a light-weight junkie!

Light weight is EXPENSIVE! But I dream of building an ultra light weight carbine. I don’t know if it will ever happen, but I hereby dub this “Project Featherweight”. I will be attempting to figure out the details of the lightest weight components.

However, I haven’t figured out my  exact goals yet, or my cost/benefit breaking point yet. For example, is it really worth an extra $100 just to save 1 ounce? This issue comes up again and again, because lightweight is expensive. Do I want to make the lightest carbine possible, regardless of price? Regardless of function? I can save weight by removing important parts. Even the lightest flash-hider is still 1 extra ounce that isn’t technically necessary. Even more weight can be eliminated from the forward assist, dust cover, sights, etc. A carbon-fiber handguard is lighter than an aluminum handguard, but cannot attach accessories. Is it worth the extra weight to be able to add those accessories?

Those questions will have to remain unanswered for now. Maybe I’ll find an answer by the time I’m finished with this series.

About jurmond

'Jurmond' was the name of my first character in a homebrew D&D campaign. He was a gunslinger and tinker, creating and carrying strange weapons that belched fire and smoke. That was well over a decade ago but I still think of him whenever fiction and firearms collide, so it seems the perfect pen name for this project.
This entry was posted in firearms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

