5 Guns – Update

After some considerable thought, I must update my previous “5 guns” post.

First, although I love the feel of a 1911, I have become skeptical of their reliability. I suggest that a reader should choose another, more modern handgun. From here, I am entering the realm of “heresy” because my 2nd pick would actually be a Glock.

Now, let me begin by saying that I hate everything about how a Glock feels and operates. However, they are reliable and customizable. If you can only have 1 handgun, then a Glock can be adapted to a variety of calibers by simply swapping parts. If you start with a 40 S&W Glock, then is is cheap & easy to convert to 9mm or 357 Sig. However, if you start with a 9mm Glock, you must buy a new slide to convert to convert to 40 S&W or 357 Sig. Hence, I actually recommend buying a Glock model 23, 22, or 35. After that, go check out Lone Wolf Distributors for a wide variety of barrels that can convert calibers.

My ideal “Glock” would have a short slide with a 9mm barrel and a long slide with 9mm and 357 Sig barrels. The barrels would be threaded for a suppressor whenever possible. The short barrel would have night sights, and the long barrel would have high-rise sights to aim over the suppressor. I’m also very interested in a red-dot type sight, such as the Trijicon RMR, but I haven’t tried one so I’m not completely convinced.

I am uncertain whether I would prefer a Glock 23 or a Glock 22 modified to have a Glock 23 grip. Choosing a G-23 gives you a shorter barrel for concealed carry, but it also means a shorter maximum barrel length for the shooting range. A G-22 means you could have a full 6-inch barrel for the shooting range, but it limits you to a 4.5-inch barrel for concealed-carry.

I would also replace the semi-auto shotgun with a pump-action model, like the Remington 870 or Mossberg 590. Semi-auto shotguns are not really less reliable than pump-action shotguns, but the pump-action is simpler & will shoot unconventional ammunition, like “lock busting” ammo. It is also far easier to modify a pump-action from home-defense to hunting styles, so a single shotgun can do more for you. I really doubt I will ever use a shotgun for defense (I like rifles), so it makes sense to get something that is less complicated and more versatile.

About jurmond

'Jurmond' was the name of my first character in a homebrew D&D campaign. He was a gunslinger and tinker, creating and carrying strange weapons that belched fire and smoke. That was well over a decade ago but I still think of him whenever fiction and firearms collide, so it seems the perfect pen name for this project.
This entry was posted in firearms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

