Pancake Endorsements

Sorry, I know I’ve been gone for a long time. Ever since Aurora and Newtown, my world has been inundated with gun society control. I’ve been savings links to news stories with the intent to write about them, but it’s all too depressing. I can barely manage to read the news each day, much less process it and express myself on it.

Getting back to today’s subject, I don’t usually endorse products unless I really like them. (And no one pays me to endorse anything.) Today, we’re talking about pancakes, or in my case “fastcakes”. I call them fastcakes because they cook SO fast. I mix my batter a little thinner, which produces thinner cakes that cook amazingly fast. By the time I pour the last cake on to the griddle, the first one is only about 10 seconds from being ready to flip. I don’t have time to do anything but focus on the fastcakes. If my attention is diverted, even briefly, the cakes will overcook. However, this creates some really nice cakes. Most cooks pride themselves on having really thick pancakes. However, it’s hard to make thick pancakes that are neither undercooked on the inside nor overcooked on the outside. Fastcakes solve that problem by being so thin that the inside finishes cooking before the outside becomes overcooked. The result is tender & delicate. I really like Krusteaz pancake mix. It seems to be high quality material, despite the somewhat ‘crusty’ name. FYI, the company got its start making “easy pie crusts”.  www.krusteaz.com/pancake-and-waffle-mixes-recipes-46

I also endorse Spatulart Nylon Flex Turner spatulas. I bought one on a whim at TJ Maxx/Home Goods and mine is shaped like a skull. However, they come in a variety of styles and colors. I like it because it’s a very thin polymer which is very flexible. It wouldn’t work very well for flipping heavy beef patties, but it’s perfect for slipping under a pancake/fastcake without smashing the edges like most other spatulas.  example: www.tovolo.com/spatulart/spatulart-amp-174-smiley-face-nylon-flex-turner

And as one final note, I highly recommend an electric griddle with a themostat. It will let you set the temperature with far more precision and repitition than just setting the stove to “6”.

About jurmond

'Jurmond' was the name of my first character in a homebrew D&D campaign. He was a gunslinger and tinker, creating and carrying strange weapons that belched fire and smoke. That was well over a decade ago but I still think of him whenever fiction and firearms collide, so it seems the perfect pen name for this project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

