Coolest SKS Ever

A few years ago, I saw one of the coolest SKS custom rifles. It was listed for about $350-$400 at the time. Unfortunately, I hesitated and didn’t buy it. It goes back to trying not to spend money unless I have to.

untitled

It started life as a Zastava 59/66 SKS type rifle. The owner had the front sight relocated to the gas block. Then, he had the barrel chopped down to 14″ and a Phantom flash hider welded on to keep the total barrel length legal over 16″. The stock is a common Tapco model, and I don’t know anything about the magazine.

Now, I know many people shun the SKS, but I have a rearsenaled Zastava 59/66A that has impressed me. I would love one in a smaller, lighter form. I’d prefer a good SKS over a cheap AK any day of the week.

I actually set up an alert to notify me if that seller ever listed anything on GunBroker again, but alas, he never relisted the rifle or anything else.

About jurmond

'Jurmond' was the name of my first character in a homebrew D&D campaign. He was a gunslinger and tinker, creating and carrying strange weapons that belched fire and smoke. That was well over a decade ago but I still think of him whenever fiction and firearms collide, so it seems the perfect pen name for this project.
This entry was posted in custom/strange, firearms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coolest SKS Ever

  1. Deonte Robinson says:

    what is the name of the gas block sight you used?

Leave a Reply

