Novelty Replicas

I often wonder why no one has created replicas of some of the neat old gun designs. Ok, I admit there’s probably no market for a replica Apache.

apache01_2263

apache05_2263

 

But what about a C96 Mauser? Originals typically sell for $1500 to $2200, depending on condition. If one could be produced for $1200, I can see some collectors buying them. I’d love to own a C96, but it’s hard to justify spending $2000 on something I can’t even shoot. If I could buy one for $1200 and shoot it without guilt or fear of it exploding, I would pull the money together somehow.

Mauser_C96_M1916_Red_4

Huh, while looking for pictures, I found this. I guess nothing is new in the world. http://michaelbane.blogspot.com/2007/03/riddle-me-this-teddy-roosevelt.html

About jurmond

'Jurmond' was the name of my first character in a homebrew D&D campaign. He was a gunslinger and tinker, creating and carrying strange weapons that belched fire and smoke. That was well over a decade ago but I still think of him whenever fiction and firearms collide, so it seems the perfect pen name for this project.
This entry was posted in firearms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

