Gun Ban Contemplations 4: The Next Fad

Ok, I ran out of steam on this series of blog posts. I wrote most of this post, but it seems to have disappeared. It’s really weird. I’ll post it if I find it.

So, if ‘assault’ weapons are banned, then what will be the next big fad? What will be the new ‘cool guns’?

I think it might be sound suppressors, or maybe short-barreled rifles. Maybe it will be a new rifle design like I discussed in part 3.

Update 1/17/13: I found it! It was on my computer, but not on my desktop. Somehow, it got saved to the ‘My Pictures’ directory.

Gun Ban Contemplations & Innovation 4: Fun Guns

Right now, the AR-15 is probably the single most popular rifle design in the US. If you look at ar15.com, you’ll find an entire forum dedicated to variants of this system. Many people on there openly admit that they build and shoot their rifles purely for fun. They’re big-boy toys.

So, if the AR-15 is banned, then what next? What will gun lovers, like myself, obsess on if the AR-15 is banned? What will be the next fad in ‘Gun Culture 2.0’?

I think it has potential to be sound suppressors. They’re a growing market, and it’s fun to shoot a suppressed rifle no matter how ugly it is. (The “assault” weapon ban basically just bans anything that looks cool.) It’s a little bit difficult to have a suppressor without a threaded barrel, but there are ways. Basically, the easiest way is some kind of Quick-Attach/Detach link where the suppressor snaps on to the rifle. Examples include the AAC 51 tooth system, SWR ASR system, and of course the famous H&K tri-lug system.

About jurmond

'Jurmond' was the name of my first character in a homebrew D&D campaign. He was a gunslinger and tinker, creating and carrying strange weapons that belched fire and smoke. That was well over a decade ago but I still think of him whenever fiction and firearms collide, so it seems the perfect pen name for this project.
This entry was posted in firearms, politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

