I Missed My Chance…

I’m not made of money. I can’t just go buy everything I see that I want.

It would be really nice if online retailers could WARN me before discontinuing something I really like. They’re willing to notify me when something comes back in to stock, so how about notifying me before they’re discontinued forever? “Warning, we’re going to discontinue something on your wishlist soon. Better buy it while you still can!”

Without notice, one day I suddenly realize that I need to go dig through eBay.

This isn’t about any one thing. It simply happens to me a lot. It happened with Dirtsurfers, my wife’s wedding rehearsal dress, and Blitzkid.

 

 

On a semi-related note, a gun-ban is probably coming. As I scramble to buy anything I can find while I still can, my wife chastises me, telling me that I should have bought an AR years ago. Well excuse me. I was trying to spend less. I avoid buying anything I don’t need, especially if it’s expensive.

And besides, if I weren’t out searching for a standard AR right now, I would be searching for:

  • CavArms polymer AR
  • Mega Arms or POF or Hogan AR lower
  • Zastava Armory AK
  • Century Arms Draco
  • Beretta CX4
  • Kel-Tec Sub2000
  • Just-Right Carbine
  • Sterling reproduction
  • Suomi reproduction
  • Glock 17
  • Ares RCU
  • GSG AK
  • HK MP5 rimfire
  • Tactical Inc CH-22

The thing is, I’m not really looking for weapons, I’m looking for neat collectibles. If I’m desperate, all I need to defend myself is a handgun. I’d prefer a double-stack 9mm with at least 15 rounds (I’d still consider a Browning Hi-Power), but I would be ‘OK’ with 10 rounds of 45ACP in something like a HK USP. Of course, effective self defense with only 1 gun means that I need to carry that gun around with me everywhere I go. Instead of having several guns scattered through the house, I would have one on my belt. That would suck. Guns are heavy, awkward, and uncomfortable. I’d much rather have several guns spread out.

Collectibles, on the other hand, have no limit. This is one of the things that makes it so difficult to explain. I don’t NEED another AR-15, but I want a variety of types and styles. They’re all so neat!

  1. lightweight carbine with iron sights
  2. lightweight carbine with free-float handguard, 1-4x scope
  3. med-weight carbine in 300 Blackout. THIS would be my self-defense choice.
  4. special carbine dedicated to 22LR only, uses a Nordic CRS
  5. pistol in 300 Blackout, 223, 9mm, and 22LR (it can share parts with #4)
  6. registered short-barreled-rifle in 300 Blackout, 223, 9mm, and 22LR

I guess I can combine some of those even more. I don’t really need #1 if I have #2 because I can take the scope off and bolt on some sights. I could just use the upper halves of #3 &#4 on the lower half of #2. Both #5 and #6 are very similar. Both have advantages, but I would prefer #6 if possible. Of course, if I DO have a short-barreled-rifle, then I guess I don’t really NEED a long-barreled rifle, too. I can just put a 14.5″ barrel on the SBR and it’s basically like having a normal rifle with a 16″ barrel.

But I WANT them all!

And what if something bad happens to my only AR-15 receiver? A backup would be nice, too.

oh, great, I just learned that the Nordic CRS is discontinued. I was out for less than 2 years. See? This happens all the time! I can’t go around buying accessories for guns I don’t even own yet, but if I don’t buy them, they disappear!

About jurmond

'Jurmond' was the name of my first character in a homebrew D&D campaign. He was a gunslinger and tinker, creating and carrying strange weapons that belched fire and smoke. That was well over a decade ago but I still think of him whenever fiction and firearms collide, so it seems the perfect pen name for this project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

